Discover Crows Nest 
Search  search    Email ✉ 


The hamlet of Pechey, on the New England Highway at its junction with Pechey Forestry Road, grew up round the Pechey family saw mill.

In its heyday at the beginning of the twentieth century, it had a post office and a one-teacher school, a hotel, baker, butcher, general store and housing for the quite large labour force employed in the timber industry.

Most of these amenities closed down in the 1920s - the hotel was destroyed by fire in 1955, the school was closed down in 1959, and soon after that the last of the original businesses, the general store, also closed its doors.

A small arboretum, just south of the village on the Highway, was established in the late 1920s to test for the most suitable variety of pine tree to plant in the area. It is Heritage listed.


Pechey, 4352Map is 40 km north of Toowoomba.


Named after Edward Wilmot Pechey, surveyor, sawmill owner and MLA Aubigny 1873-77.


Granny Smith's cottage


Is any information on this page incorrect or missing? Help us keep the page up-to-date and useful. Please email the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..